Become a part of the OCBP tradition: lifeguard tryouts are June 13-14 - Ocean City Sentinel: Community

Become a part of the OCBP tradition: lifeguard tryouts are June 13-14

By FRED MILLER OCBP Historian | Posted: Wednesday, May 20, 2015 1:42 pm

OCEAN CITY—Tryouts for rookie lifeguards will be held on Saturday and Sunday, June 13 and 14, on the First Street Beach. Registration will begin at 9 a.m. and end at 10 a.m. at the First Street Lifeguard Headquarters. Rookie candidates must be at least 16 years old. An application can be picked up at the Human Resources Office in City Hall or online at For more information call (609) 525-9367.  

Starting pay is $11.28 per hour. Lifeguards 16 and 17 years of age will work a five-day week. Lifeguards 18 and older may work five or six days a week. 

All rookie candidates will be given a participation number upon registering for the test Saturday, June 13. This number will be their identification for the tryout process. On the day of the test, candidates must submit an approved physical form signed by a physician.

The test is comprised of five parts: half-mile run under 3 minutes 45 seconds; timed 1,000-meter ocean swim; timed 100-meter surf dash; timed singles 150-meter row; and an interview with the beach patrol officials.

The men and women who score high on the test will be required to participate in a weeklong rookie school starting at 9 a.m., Saturday, June 20, led by Training Officer Mark Jamieson. After successful completion of the school, the rookie lifeguards will work with veteran lifeguards on the lookout stands. The vets will teach the rookies ocean-rescue techniques and how to keep bathers out of rip currents. Joining the veteran lifeguards and lieutenants in training and evaluation of the new members of the OCBP will be the following senior guards: Holly Berenotto, Matt Betson, Paul Boardman, Bryan Chojnacki, Chris Denn, Bill Dorney, Mark McElwee, Tony Mehalic, Scott Pepe, Fran Reed, and Andy Wise.

The following were rookie lifeguards during the summer of 2014: Joe Abbate, Cameron Andres, Maddie Brady, Matthew Canal, Patrick Cusack, Tommy Cusack, Alex David, Robert DiGregorio, Michael Fiscus, Tom Frost, Ryan Fugee, Brian Hauck, Jackson Kirk, Kevin McClintock, Ryan McCrosson, Ian McGee, Andrew Moon, Evan Oliva, Riley O’Shea, Hunter Peck, Schuylar Rockey, Maren Ross, Julia Scahlles, Andrew Shaw, Kara Sulzer, Bryan Theiss, Christian Toto, Sarah Westley, and John Tyler Wray.